La région et le terroir

THE MONT VENTOUX REGION

THE MONT VENTOUX SITS PROUDLY IN THE CENTRE OF PROVENCE AND HAS DESERVEDLY BEEN NICKNAMED "THE GIANT OF PROVENCE".

When you come and visit our beautiful region under its legendary sunny skies, this is what you will discover:

The Mont Ventoux, a famous stage of the Tour de France

Fontaine-de-Vaucluse, with its gigantic and mysterious source

Vaison-la-Romaine, with its Gallo-Roman ruins and ancient theatre

Avignon, the Papal City and European Capital of Culture

Carpentras, with its magnificent synagogue, the oldest in France

Orange and its ancient Roman theatre

Benvengudo en Prouvence ! Bienvenue en Provence !

Mont Ventoux

Cultural and landscape background

Caromb was mentioned for the first time in a deed as "ad carumbum", in 1021. This was the first spelling of the name of the village, meaning "pile of stones". "Quairoun" or "Queiruon" in Provençal means a big square stone and refers to stone quarries on the village’s lands. The village was then not mentioned again until 1185, when it was spelt “Carumpio", and then "Carumbo" in 1254. The Celtic word "car" refers to a rocky land, while "umbo" is Latin for hill or mound. 

The plains of Caromb are a stark contrast with other Provence landscapes, such as the farming plains of the Comtat, with their criss-cross of hedged fields, the Crau plain, the Étang de Berre basin, the Camargue, as well as urbanized and natural coastlines. These beautiful landscapes, shaped by a balmy climate, boast a decidedly diverse geology: Garrigue-covered limestone, Aleppo pines and holm oaks, maquis-adorned crystalline rock, stone pines and cork oaks, the Côte d'Azur with its naturalised flora, and the river Rhône taking up the west. 

The landscape surrounding Saint-Marc Winery is very diverse, and remarkably beautiful:

- Towards the east-south-east, the eye is caught by the dark vegetation adorning the Monts de Vaucluse

- Towards the north-east, north and north-west, the Mont Ventoux, the Barroux hills and the Dentelles de Montmirail outline a powerful and majestic relief. 

The Terroir, an ancestral vineyard with a rich, diverse soil.

Vignobles saint marc

Caromb is a small Provençal village in the Vaucluse, at the foot of Mont Ventoux.

The Vineyards of Ventoux, the oldest in France, owe much to the plentiful sunshine of the south of France. The Vineyards of Saint-Marc thrive in various types of soil: hard clay-limestone soils, scree, ancient alluvium with smooth stones, etc. The quality and diversity of soils, the wide range of grape varieties (Grenache, Carignan, Syrah, Cinsault...) are the reason for the great richness of aromas of the Ventoux Saint-Marc wines.

In a region where wine-growing is a tradition, the vines adorn our valleys and contribute to the beauty of our landscapes.

Menu

Settings

Create a free account to use wishlists.

Sign in

La région et le terroir

La région du Mont Ventoux

Le Mont Ventoux trône au beau milieu de la Provence, et a reçu à juste titre le surnom de "Géant de Provence".

En visitant notre belle région, sous son soleil légendaire de Provence, vous pourrez découvrir au fil de votre voyage :

Le Mont Ventoux, célèbre étape du Tour de France cycliste

Fontaine-de-Vaucluse et sa source gigantesque et mystérieuse

Vaison-la-Romaine, ses ruines gallo-romaines et son théâtre antique

Avignon, la cité des Papes, capitale européenne de la culture

Carpentras, avec sa magnifique synagogue, la plus ancienne de France

Orange et son théâtre antique romain

Benvengudo en Prouvence ! Bienvenue en Provence !

Mont Ventoux

Contexte culturel et paysager

Caromb est cité pour la première fois dans un acte sous la forme de « ad carumbum », en 1001, ce qui constitue la première écriture du nom du village dont l’étymologie signifie « tas de pierre ». « Quairoun » ou « Queiruon », en provençal, signifie grosse pierre carré et fait référence aux carrières de pierres exploitées sur le territoire de la commune. Il faut attendre l’année 1185 pour retrouver le village sous la dénomination de « Carumpio » puis « Carumbo » en 1254. Le mot celtique « Car » qualifie un pays de pierreux et « Umbo », en latin, indique une éminence, un tertre. 

Les plaines de Caromb offrent un fort contraste avec les autres zones paysagères de la Provence : plaines agricoles du Comtat à trame bocagère, plaine de la Crau, bassin de l’étang de Berre, Camargue, littoral urbanisé et littoral naturel. Il s’agit de paysages exceptionnels liés à la douceur climatique et à la variété géologique affirmée : Provence calcaire à garrigues, pins d’Alep et chênes verts, Provence Cristalline à maquis, pins parasols et chênes lièges, Côtes d’Azur à végétation acclimatée, emprise du Rhône à l’ouest. 

Au niveau de la cave Saint-Marc, le paysage est très contrasté, il possède une qualité remarquable :

Vers l’est-sud-est, le regard accroche la masse végétale sombre des Monts de Vaucluse

Au nord-est, au nord et au nord-ouest, le Mont Ventoux, les collines du Barroux et les Dentelles de Montmirail dessinent les contours d’un relief vigoureux et majestueux. 

Le Terroir, un vignoble ancestral, des sols riches et variés.

Vignobles saint marc

Caromb, petit village provençal, est situé dans le Vaucluse au pied du Mont Ventoux.

Plus vieux vignobles de France, les Vignobles du Ventoux profitent du fort ensoleillement du midi de la France. Les Vignobles Saint-Marc sont établis sur différents types de sols : des sols argilo-calcaire durs, éboulis, alluvions anciennes à cailloux ronds... La qualité et la diversité des sols, la variété des cépages (grenache, carignan, syrah, cinsault...) sont à l’origine de la grande richesse aromatique des vins du Ventoux Saint Marc.

Dans une région traditionnellement tournée vers la viticulture, la vigne orne nos vallées et contribue à la beauté de nos paysages.

Menu

Paramètres

Créez un compte gratuit pour utiliser les listes de Favoris

Se connecter